Bishwo Shankar Palikhe elected as PCCI president

BS Palikhe (R) receiving the certificate of PCCI president from election committee coordinator Deepak Shrestha on Sunday, in Pokhara. Picture: Sarswoti Gurung

By Rup Narayan Dhakal—Pokhara:  Media and tourism entrepreneur Bishwo Shankar Palikhe has been elected as a new president of Pokhara Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI) on Sunday.  Palikhe garnered 955 votes to defeat his nearest rival Dev Chhetri got 800 votes.

All total six candidates had competed for the post of president of PCCI, the eldest organization of private sector in Pokhara. Voting had launched yesterday under the PCCI 31st convention that was inaugurated on September 16. Narayan Koirala(411), Hira Bhattarai(163), Ishwor Karmacharya(123) and Dhaniram Baral were(44) other presidential candidates.

Rabindra Bahadur Prajoo became victorious defeating his rival Min Raj Kafle in senior vice president. Bindu Koirala Subedi became victorious in vice president in the side of commerce. She defeated her rivals Kedar Nath Bhattarai and Suresh Adhikari. Gokarna Karki became victorious in vice president in the side of industry. He defeated Sita Gurung.

Damu Adhikari has been elected as general secretary of PCCI. He defeated his rival Laxmi Pandey Chhetri. Arjun Pokhrel remained victorious in deputy general secretary. Dharma Raj Aryal and Nabin Baral were his rivals. Pawan Prajapati remained victorious in treasurer. He defeated Janak Raj Parajuli.

Similarly, in executive members on the side of open competition, Anil Sigdel, Sita Baral, Kishan Sunar, Yadu Nath Adhikari, Surendra Man Bijukchhe, Dev Krishna Kafle, Prem Bahadur Bhujel, Gita Tiwari, Chinu Gurjng and Goma Dhakal remained victorious. All the victorious members excluding Chinu and Goma are from the Palikhe Panel. All total 21 fought for the 10 open executive members of PCCI.

According to election committee coordinator Deepak Shrestha, all total 2513 votes were caste though 2549 general members of PCCI were eligible to vote in election. Two in senior vice presidents, three in vice presidents towards commerce, 2 vice presidents towards industry, two in treasurer, two in general secretary and three in deputy general secretary contested in the PCCI election.

On Objective side, Narayan Prasad Paudel, Yamnath Paudel, Giridhari Adhikari and Dev Bahadur Bhujel became victorious. Eight candidates fought for four objective members. Mohan Babu Khadka for required 1 member on the side of industry had been unanimously elected. Kamal Bhadur Basnet and Narendra Bastola were also elected without oppose on required 2 corporate member.

According to new statute of PCCI, the executive body contains 1 president, 1 senior vice president, two vice presidents, 1 treasurer, 1 general secretary, 1 deputy general secretary, 10 members, four members from objective side, two from corporate side, 1 member from industry side and 1 immediate past presidents (Bindu Kumar Thapa).

3 members- Prakash Dev Palikhe, Chandra Kishor Gautam and Hiramani Pandit have been nominated by new president, out of needed 4.  All total 49 candidates for 24 posts took part in the election. The PCCI executive body contains all total 29 members.

Speaking in PCCI Hall, newly elected president Palikhe vowed to work for new airport in Pokhara and for prosperous Pokhara.

A group picture of PCCI new executive body. Picture: Sandesh Shrestha/FB
A group picture of PCCI new executive body. Picture: Sandesh Shrestha/FB


Published on: September 19, 2016 7:35 am

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.