Pokhara Premier League 2018 kicks off, Pokhara Paltan wins opening match

PPL pitch and Annapurna range in the backdrop. Picture: Rup Narayan Dhakal

By Rup Narayan Dhakal : Pokhara—Pokhara Paltan thrashed Biratnagar Titans by 58 runs in Twenty20 Pokhara Premier League 2018 in the ground of Pokhara Stadium on Friday. Losing toss, Pokhara batted first and set a target of 198 runs for 3 wickets playing 20 overs against rival team. But Biratnagar only scored 139 runs for eight wickets in 20 overs.

Asif Sheikh of Pokhara Paltan contributed 52 runs in 54 balls. He smashed 1 six and 5 fours. Likewise, Ravi Inder Singh collected 44 runs of 27 balls. Kushal Bhurtel scored 38 runs of 26 balls. Binod Bhandari contributed not out 41 runs while Captain Sharad Vesawkar scored not out 7 runs. Biratnagar Titans’ Sandeep Lamichhane took two wickets while Shahab Alam 1.

Likewise, Raju Rijal and Pushpa Thapa of Biratnagar scored 30 runs each and Anton Andrew and Sandeep Lamichhane contributed 14 runs each. In bowling side, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi took three wickets. Likewise, Mehboob Alam, Krishna Karki, Sharad Vesawkar, Bikram Bhusal and Rashid Khan took one wicket each.

A total of six teams are taking part in the championship organized by Queens Event Management Pvt Ltd. Winner team will bag Rs 2.7 million while runner up Rs 1 million. House of Representative Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara inaugurated the championship that was also addressed by Gandaki Province Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung, assembly members of same province Rajiv Pahari and Deepak Koirala.

QEM Managing Director Chhumbi Lama said that the league will help to promote the tourism of Pokhara and to develop the Pokhara as a neutral venue of cricket. Chitwan Rhinos will take on Butwal Blasters in tomorrow’s match. Kathmandu Royals and Dhangadi Blues also are the participants of the championship.

Published on: October 26, 2018 3:20 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.