Election fever grips TAAN WRA Pokhara

Hari Bhujel (L) and Bhoj Kumar Shrestha are the presidential candidates of TAAN WRA Pokhara 15th convention.

Pokhara—Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) Western Regional Association Pokhara which is marking its Silver Jubilee year is also going to elect a new executive body for upcoming tenure of two years on August 11, 2018.

The association is all set to hold its 25th annual general meeting and 15th convention that would elect 11 executives and the elected chairman would nominate two members in new committee later. Then the committee would have 14 members including an immediate past president.

According to TAAN Election Committee’s Chief Election Commissioner Basanta Raj Dawadi, two candidates- Hari Bhujel and Bhoj Kumar Shrestha aka Pramod are vying for the post of president. Bhujel is a first vice president of incumbent committee while Shrestha is a former 2nd vice president of than committee of 2067-2069 BS.

Similarly, 2nd vice president Bishwo Raj Adhikari and secretary Sushil Raj Paudel have filed their candidacy for the post of first vice president. Dharma Raj Panthi, Diwas Lamichhane and Shyam Krishna Thapa are the candidates of the 2nd vice president.

There seems tough competition in secretary post that is being vied by Ram Chandra Adhikari, Milan Tiwari and Jivan Raj Sapkota. Krishna Prasad Acharya and Kisham Kumari Gurung are in the race of treasurer. At the same time, Uday Subedi and Thaneshwor Baral have registered their candidacy for the post of joint secretary.

Amrit Prasad Tiwari, Kali Bahadur Nembang, Tirtha Raj Subedi, Sarswati BK, Bishwohang Rai, Radhika Paudel, Resham Adhikari, Narayan Prasad Bhandari, Bikash Gurung, Gopal Krishna Sangraula, Balbahadur Nepali and Prakash Bastakoti are the candidates of executive member post of TAAN WRA election that is being fighted by a total of 26 candidates for 11 posts. TAAN WRA Pokhara has 137 valid voters for this election.

Exploration, development and promotion of new trekking routes, curbing illegal trekking, recommendation of guide and supporters in trekking for the safety of trekkers, coordination with various tourism related organizations, additional taxes imposed by provincial government, well-being of TAAN members and systematic management of TAAN office are some key agendas of this convention.

Published on: August 9, 2018 2:15 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.