APF Maharjan grabs open swimming championship title

From left in the center of first row, Rudra Katwal (III), Devesh Manandhar(I) and Subham Shrestha (II) with their cheques pose for a group picture with guests and organizers in Pokhara on Saturday. Picture: NSA

Pokhara—Devesh Manandhar of Armed Police Force (APF) grabbed the title of 7th Open Swimming Championship organized in Phewa Lake in Pokhara on Saturday. Likewise Subham Shrestha of APF became first runner up while Rudra Katwal of Nepal Army bagged 2nd runner up position. They received Rs 25,000, R 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively. They crossed the stipulated 2.5 km distances in 21 minutes 4.1 seconds, 21 minute 4.7 seconds and 21 minute 50.96 seconds respectively.

According to organizer Nepal Swimming Association (NSA) Chairman Ashok Bajracharya, open swimming and another Machhapuchhre Cup Swimming have been carrying out for 8 years to develop and extend the water sports in Pokhara. At the same time, in women category, Polish national Venisha Jwik, Upasti Maharjan and Anushka Pokhrel of Nepal became first, second and third respectively.

Dhanman Gurung, Arjun Nepali and Dipendra Khadka became first, second and third in the competition of Kaski district players. Women category winner and Kaski category winners bagged Rs 8,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively. APF DIG Subodh Adhikari, Kaski District Sports Development Committee Chairman Yam Bahadur Gurung, Nepal Democratic Sports Association Chairman Devendra Kumar Serchan, NSA Chairman Bajracharya and another organizer Kaski District Swimming Association Chairman Baibhav Paudel distributed the prize money, certificates and medals. A total of 140 contestants took part in the championship
Pictures: NSA

Published on: September 23, 2017 2:55 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.