Rival factions dream shattered in Gandaki, Prithvi Subba Gurung still Chief Minister

Gandaki Province Assembly building

By Rup Narayan Dhakal : Pokhara—Rival factions who registered a no-trust motion against Prithvi Subba Gurung, the Chief Minister of Gandaki Province has felt a surprising shock as their dream to topple the existing government ended with a nightmare.

As two assembly members– Khim Bikram Shahi of Rashtriya Janamorcha and independent assembly member Rajiv Gurung aka Deepak Manage failed to attend the special assembly session today, Speaker Netra Nath Adhikari who had been elected from CPN-MC deferred the house session indefinitely. Speaker took this decision as Rashtriya Janamorcha Chief-of-Whip Piyari Thapa demanded to postpone the house session with her written appeal to search and find the whereabouts of her party lawmaker Shahi.

The Gandaki Province assembly has 60 members. Out of them, CPN-UML has 28 including independent lawmaker Rajiv Gurung, NC has 15, CPN-MC has 12 including speaker Adhikari, Rashtriya Janamorcha has 3 and Janata Samajbadi has 2. To topple Prithvi Subba’s government, rival factions need to collect 31 votes but the situation unturned as Shai, who could be a decisive voter, remain absent in the house session. RJM had accused the provincial government of abducting its assembly member on the voting day but Shahi who was elected from Baglung district has been said to be admitted in a hospital ICU in Pokhara, as he went unconscious this afternoon.

A total of 28 lawmakers from the Nepali Congress, CPN-MC and Janata Samajbadi Party had registered a no-trust motion against CM Gurung on April 15. The motion was tabled last Monday and today was a voting day in the provincial assembly. Nepali Congress lawmaker Krishna Chandra Nepali Pokhrel was proposed as a new CM of Gandaki Province.

Published on: April 28, 2021 6:12 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.