No trust motion filed against Gandaki Province CM Prithvi Subba Gurung

Prithvi Subba Gurung

By Rup Narayan Dhakal : Pokhara–Opposition parties have filed a no trust motion against Gandaki Province Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung on Thursday.

A total of 28 lawmakers from Nepali Congress, CPN-MC and Janata Samajbadi Party have signed the motion that has been registered in the secretariat of Gandaki Province Assembly. They have also proposed Nepali Congress Lawmaker Krishna Chandra Nepali Pokhrel as new Chief Minister.

As per the province law, 25 percent of total lawmakers can file the no trust motion against CM. Surprisingly, Gandaki Province CM Prithvi Subba Gurung’s Council of Ministers had recommended to end the house session of this season. As per the recommendation, Gandaki Province Governor Amik Sherchan approved the recommendation.  

But political parties who filed the no trust motion have demanded to call a special house session with Governor Sherchan today. Few days earlier,  CPN-MC’s two lawmakers had lifted their support to the Gandaki Province government. There are a total of 60 lawmakers in Gandaki Province Assembly.

Out of them, ruling CPN-UML has 27, NC has 15, CPN-MC has 12, Janata Samajbadi has two, Rastriya Janamorcha has three and one is an independent lawmaker. To form a new government, opposition parties need the support of 31 lawmakers. Rastriya Janamorcha has vowed to vote against the CM.

Published on: April 15, 2021 4:33 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.