Shirish Gurung wins swimming championship

Phewa Lake, Pokhara. Picture:

Pokhara–Olympian Shirish Gurung won the title of the 8th Open Water Swimming Championship for the third time, in Pokhara on Friday. Player from Nepali Army, Gurung is also the winner of 5th and 6th championship.

At the same time, Bedagya Raj Joshi became first runner up while Deepankar Awale turned second runner up in the championship held in Phewa Lake. They bagged Rs 25,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively. Likewise, Upasti Maharjan from Kathmandu, Samirasobha Thapa and Srebi Maharjan became first, second and third in women’s category. They got Rs 10,000, Rs 8,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Dhanman Gurung, Arjun Nepali and Thakur Chaudhary secured first, second and third position in the evaluation of players from Pokhara. They bagged Rs 8,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively. Gandaki Province assembly member Rajiv Pahari distributed the prize money. A total of 40 players including five foreigners took part in the championship organized by Kaski Swimming Association and District Sports Development Committee Kaski.

Published on: October 12, 2018 5:36 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.