Gandaki picked permanent name of Province 4

Gandaki Province Assembly building

Pokhara—Province 4 has been named as Gandaki Province today. The Province assembly meeting held on Friday passed the name with 2/3 majority of assembly members.

54 assembly members voted for the name of Gandaki while two members of Naya Shakti Nepal voted against the proposal. Speaker Netra Nath Adhikari didn’t take part in the voting. Janamorcha’s assembly member Tek Bahadur Gharti remained absent.

The assembly had fixed Pokhara as a Province Capital few days ago. Province assembly had formed a panel to take suggestions before naming the province. Gandaki, Tamuwan-Magarat including others were some of the suggested names.

Published on: July 6, 2018 5:11 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.