Russia, Croatia, Uruguay enter quarter-finals of FIFA World Cup

Russian players celebrate their victory.

Russia—Host Russia knocked out one time World Cup winner Spain 4-3 in penalty shootout to enter the quarter finals of the FIFA World Cup on Sunday evening in Luzhnki Stadium.

Russia’s Fyodor Smolov, Sergei Ignashevich, Aleksandr Golovin and Denis Cheryshev scored for their nation but Spain’s only Andres Iniesta, Gerard Pique and Sergio Ramos converted their effort into goal however Koke and Iago Aspas’s shots were denied by Russian goal keeper Igor Akinfeev.

As the score stalled in 1-1 draw in regular 90 minute and added 30 minute time, the round of sixteen match was decided by the penalty shootout. Earlier Sergei Ignashevich scored for Spain in 12th minute but host’s Artem Dzyuba leveled the scored in 41st minute. Russia have reached the quarter final of the World Cup for the first time since the breakup of the Soviet Union. But Spain have been lost three of their four World Cup penalty shootouts.

After that match, Croatia thrashed Denmark 3-2 in penalty shootout to enter the quarter finals. Croatia’s Andrej Kramaric, Luka Modric, Ivan Rakitic scored for their nation but Denmark’s only Simon Kjaer and Michael Krohn Dehli converted their kick into goals. Denmarks’ Lasse Schone, Nicolai Jorgensen and Christian Erksen efforts were denied by Croatian goalie Danijel Subašić.

Similarly, Croatia’s Milan Badeli and Josip Pivaric shots were saved by Denis goal keeper Kasper Schmeichel. Earlier, Luka Modric of Croatia missed penalty in 116 minute. Earlier, Uruguay beat Portugal 2-1 to make the berth in quarterfinals.

Published on: July 2, 2018 1:08 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.