Ganesh Timilsina elected National Assembly Chairman

Ganesh Timilsina

Kathmandu—Ganesh Prasad Timilsina has been formally elected the Chairman of National Assembly today. Protem speaker Tara Devi Pokhrel asked assembly member Khimlal Bhattarai to read the letter of appointment and it was seconded by assembly member duos Suman Raj Pyakurel and Dinnath Sharma.

He was the only candidate of upper house chairman from left alliance. His candidacy was filed on Monday. Similarly, the election for vice chairman of upper house would be held on March 18. As per the constitution, the vice chairman would be a female as male has been elected in chairman.

There are a total of 59 members in National Assembly where CPN-UML has 27, Nepali Congress has 13, CPN-MC has 12, Federal Socialist Forum and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal have 2 each and three from nominated by President.

Published on: March 14, 2018 4:20 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.