NPC to meet TSC for Aaha title on Saturday

Captains, coaches and officials of TSC and NPC pose for picture with a title of 16th Aaha Rara Gold Cup Football Tournament of pre match press conference in Pokhara Stadium on Friday. Picture:

By Rup Narayan Dhakal : Pokhara—Nepal Police Club (NPC) is to take on Three Star Club (TSC)  in the final of 16th Aaha Rara Football Tournament here in Pokhara Stadium on Saturday. Both the teams are fourth time winners of this tournament and they are eying for the fifth title of the tournament. NPC however is the winner of the Caravan Gold Cup that was first tournament organized by Sahara Club Pokhara.

TSC didn’t play any tournament in last 1.5 years recently and had also lifted the title of Madan Bhandari Memorial Itahari Gold Cup. Addressing a pre-match press conference organized at Pokhara Stadium on Friday, TSC coach Megh Raj KC claimed that they won the title this time too. ‘Team work and experienced players is the strength of my squad’, KC said. TSC captiaon Bikram Lama said that he was feeling pressure that his team was back in Nepali football after a gap and he had to prove something by playing this tournament which is according to hi one of the reputed tournaments of Nepal.

NPC coach Ananta Raj Thapa said that there is 50/50 chance of his team’s wining in the final. According to him, he is working out to make NPC a good football team and he would like to serve a good football for the audiences. NPC captain Hem Tamang said that his team would play as per the guidelines given by the coach and win the match.

TSC had defeated APF 5-3 in penalties before defeating Uttar Barindhara Club Bangladesh 5-0 in semifinals to enter the final of this tournament. Likewise, NPC had defeated Jhapa- XI 1-0 in pre quarter final match and defeated Manag Marshyangdi Club 3-1 in to enter the semi finals. Likewise, NPC defeated Dharan Football Club 1-0 to enter the final of the tournament.

A total of 12 teams including from India and Bangladesh played this tournament. The winner will bag Rs 7,01,000 including trophy while runner up will receive Rs 301,000 as prize.

Published on: February 2, 2018 11:21 am

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.