Left Alliance heading to landslide victory as Nepal vote counting is on

Pokhara—Left alliance of CPN-UML and CPN-MC are heading to landslide victory as the vote counting of parliamentary and provincial assembly polls is undergoing in Nepal.

The polls were held in two phases on November 26 and December 7. The left alliance has already won 30 constituencies among the counted 36 ones. The CPN-UML alone won 23 seats and major rival party ruling Nepali Congress who has led democratic alliance garnered only five seats so far.

The polls were held for total 275 parliamentary seats where 165 are allocated for first past the post system and 110 for proportional representation system. Similarly, 330 lawmakers excluding towards proportional representation also would be selected for seven provinces of Nepal. The vote counting of both parliamentary and provincial election is underway.

It is almost clear that the left alliance would garner majority of seats and would form federal and provincial governments following the completion of this vote counting that would last within a week. As of now, CPN-UML is leading in 59 constituencies, CPN-MC in 27 while in Nepali Congress in 19. The alliance is leading and winning more seats than Nepali Congress in provincial sides too.

Nepali Congress chairman and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuwa is leading against his rival candidate of left alliance in Dadeldhura and former Prime Minister and Naya Shakti Nepal coordinator Dr Baburam Bhattarai leading in Gorkha as the counting is on. CPN-UML chairman and former Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has won the election in Jhapa.

Nepali Congress popular leader and former health minister Gagan Kumar Thapa won the election. But new comer and popular Bibeksheel Sajha Party coordinator Rabindra Mishra was defeated by Nepali Congress candidate Prakash Man Singh in Kathmandu constituency 1. Some heavyweight leaders of Nepali Congress have been defeated in these polls.

Published on: December 9, 2017 2:10 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.