TAAN Western Regional Association Pokhara AGM held

TAAN chairman Nava Raj Dahal (R) and TAAN WRA Pokhara chairman Deepak Raj Adhikari and other guests during the opening of TAAN WRA Pokhara 24th AGM in Pokhara on Friday. Picture: Rup Narayan Dhakal

Pokhara—Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) Western Regional Association Pokhara has organized its 24th annual general meeting in Pokhara on Friday. TAAN central committee newly elected chairman Nava Raj Dahal inaugurated the AGM in a formal ceremony.

Speaking in the AGM, chairman Dahal said that the TAAN central committee was committed to control the illegal trekking and the committee would like to coordinate with the TAAN WRA Pokhara to curb such illegal activities in trekking areas. Saying that the strict implementation of Trekkers’ Information Management System (TIMS) is one of the TAAN focuses, chairman Dahal added that the system is not effectively being implemented in some of the trekking regions however according to him, Annapurna Region is doing well.

Dahal also flayed the action of some of the local level that tried to collect tourism tax in their own instead of cooperating with tourism organizations and respective government officials. Dahal also asked all the entrepreneurs and concerned sectors to work for the conservation of trekking routes and suggested the TAAN WRA Pokhara to be transformed as per the federal structure. Chairman Dahal further urged the government to slash the tourism fees for the semi restricted areas like Upper Mustang as some of the such areas have now road facility and the length of stay and travel is being decreased.

TAAN WRA Pokhara secretary Sushil Raj Paudel has presented his report during the AGM that also felicitated its Birethanti field staff Nirupa Gurung as best staff of the year. Likewise, TAAN WRA also honored its office secretary Sabitri Joshi and TAAN Yatra’s guest editor Dipendra Pahari during the event.

TAAN WRA Silver Jubilee Celebration Coordinator and former chairman Dambar Bahadur KC, Nepal Tourism Board Pokhara acting chief Surya Thapaliya, Immigration Department Pokhara chief Ram Chandra Adhikari, Annapurna Rural Municipality chief Youba Raj Kunwar, Machhapuchhre Rural Municipality chief Karna Bahadur Gurung and Pokhara Tourism Council chairman Kedar Nath Sharma expressed their views during the program chaired by TAAN WRA Pokhara president Deepak Raj Adhikari.
Pictures: Recentfusion.com

Published on: November 10, 2017 2:10 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.