PM Deuba reshuffles cabinet

Sher Bahadur Deuba

Kathmandu—Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuwa has reshuffled his cabinet today. He has given responsibility to newly added Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) leaders who were appointed as minister and state minister but without portfolio in cabinet.

PM Deuba has charged RPP Chairman Kamal Thapa as Deputy Prime Minister and Energy Minister, Dil Nath Giri as Minister for Urban Development, Jayanta Chand as Minister for Supplies, Bikram Thapa as Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare.

Likewise, Bhaskar Bhadra has been appointed as State Minister for Energy, Sushil Kumar Shrestha as State Minsiter for Supplies, Kunti Shahi as State Minister for Urban Development, Kanta Bhattarai has been appointed as State Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare.

However, the portfolio of CPN-United Minister Mithila Chaudhary has been put intact. CPN-United recently merged with CPN (Maoist Centre). The prime minister reshuffled the Cabinet in the wake of CPN (Maoist Centre)’s move to back down from its earlier decision to quit government. The party said it cancelled its decision to pull out of government after receiving tip that the government is working to defer the elections slated for November 26, and December 7, the Kathmandu Post reports.

Published on: October 17, 2017 9:04 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.