Bain Bahadur Adhikari Chhetri unanimously elected DCC Kaski chief

Bain Bahadur Chhetri

Pokhara—Bain Bahadur Adhikari Chhetri of main opposition CPN-UML has been unanimously elected as a Chairman of District Coordination Committee (DCC) Kaski in Pokhara. The way made clear for Chhetri as no other candidate from any party registered the candidacy for the post. Chhetri is the elected member of ward number of Pokhara Lekhnath Metropolitan City (PLMC). Similarly, CPN-UML’s Sabitri Bhandari from ward number 31 unanimously elected in the post of vice chair.

Like Chhetri and Bhandari, all the members filed nomination from CPN-UML unanimously elected in the member of DCC Kaski. Brihaspati Sapkota from Madi- 4, Bishnu Prasad Paudel from Machhapuchhre- 4, Jaganmaya Gurung from Annapurna- 11, Sita Devi BK from PLMC- 21, Guma Devi Adhikari of PLMC- 16, Toran Bahadur Baniya of PLMC- 15 were elected in the member of DCC. Toran Bahadur Baniya of PLMC- 15 and Rup Bahadur Thapa of Rupa- 2 have been elected from minorities group.

Election Commission has scheduled Monday for nomination but besides CPN-UML, no other party candidate filed the nomination. To become the candidate in DCC, one should be proposed and seconded by the members of District Assembly that has 10 members from 5 local units of Kaski. All such members are from CPN-UML besides 1 from Nepali Congress.

As per the election schedule, the voting day is 4 August but Chhetri would be formally declared as a DCC chairman on August 2. Local units’ chief and deputy are the voters for the election DCC. The Chairman of DCC would monitor and observe the development and other works in Kaski district.

Published on: August 1, 2017 12:37 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.