CPN-UML wins chief of Machhapuchhre, Rupa Rural Municipality

Karna Gurung (right), who became chief of Machhapuchhre Rural Municipality Kaski. Picture: Yadu Adhikari's FB

Pokhara—Naba Raj Ojha of CPN-UML became victorious in the chief of Rupa Rural Municipality- Kaski in local election of Nepal. Defeating his nearest rival ruling Nepali Congress’s candidate Prakash Mohan Khanal, Ojha garnered 4,214 votes to rule the municipality for five years. NC’s Khanal bagged 3,275 votes.

Likewise, Lal Subba Gurung of CPN-UML defeated NC candidate Gimaya Gurung to become the deputy chief of the same municipality. They garnered 3,513 and 3,456 respectively. NC won the chairman of ward number 1, 2 and 6 of that municipality.

Similarly, CPN-UML clinched the victory in the president of ward 3, 4, 5 and 7 of that municipality. In Machhapuchhre Rural Municipality Kaski, CPN-UML’s Karna Bahadur Gurung became victorious in chief. Krishna Kumari Dawadi of same party became deputy chief in that municipality.

Karna garnered 5,607 votes to defeat his rival Nepali Congress Khusiman Gurung who bagged 4,600 votes. At the same time, Dawadi bagged 5,479 votes, while her nearest rival Nepali Congress Shova Gurung 4,473.

Likewise, CPN-UML also won the ward president from ward 1 and ward 3 to 9, while Nepali Congress bagged the victory of ward number 1 president of that municipality, informed election officer Ganga Prasad Paudel.

At the same time, the vote counting of ward number 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 of Pokhara Metropolitan City- Kaski have concluded so far. According to Election Commission, Nepali Congress won the president of ward 2, 3 and 4, while CPN-UML in 1 and 5.

Published on: May 17, 2017 9:35 am

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.