MMC clinch the title of 15th Aaha Rara Football Tournament

MMC players, officials and fans pose for a group picture with the title they won in Pokhara Stadium on Saturday. Picture: Sooraz Shrestha

By Rup Narayan Dhakal—Pokhara: Defending champion Laxmi Hundai Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) clinched the title of 15th Aaha Rara Gold Cup Football Tournament here in Pokhara Stadium today.

Defeating hosts Sahara Club Pokhara (SCP) 1-0, MMC lifted the Aaha Rara title for 5th time in the ground of Pokhara. MMC also bagged Rs. 501,001, shield, medals and certificates. Likewise, runner up SCP got Rs. 251,001 and cup, medal, certificates.

The 70th minute’s solitary goal from man of the match Kamal Shrestha remained decisive to win the title for MMC. SCP gloves-man Sujit Gurung failed to judge the direction of ball while Shrestha hit from 30 yards of distance. Earlier, the ball bounced from cross bar while SCP captain Uttam Gurung tried to make a score. SCP coacher Kiran Shrestha termed that situation bad luck for them. Winner MMC coacher Chhiring Lopsang Gurung said that his team scored delayed as his boys didn’t follow his strategy.

SCP played normal game in the first half but they seemed defensive following the starting of 2nd half. As MMC led by 1 goal, again SCP came into pressure and played defensive game. MMC had played 10 finals in Aaha Rara but hosts only 3 including this time. SCP was the winner of 12th edition where SCP had defeated MMC.

A total of 12 teams took part in the tournament that was kicked off 12 days before, informed SCP chairman Birbhadra Acharya. Event coordinator Keshav Thapa thanked all concerns for helping to make the tournament a grand success. Minister Kumar Khadka, lawmaker Rabindra Adhikari including other VIPs distributed the prize to the winner, runner up and players during concluding ceremony held in stadium.


Man of the seris: Sujit Gurung, SCP (Hero Scooter/Rs.15,000)

Best Defender: Kamal Shrestha, MMC (Rs. 15,000)

Best Midfielder: Sujal Shrestha, MMC (Rs. 15,000)

Best Striker: Shiva Subedi, SCP (Rs. 15,000)

Best Coacher: Kiran Shrestha, SCP (Rs. 15,000)

Highest scorer: Karna Subba, Jhapa 11 FC (Rs. 25,000)

Fair play: Jhapa 11 FC

Published on: January 28, 2017 6:22 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.