Six candidates in PCCI presidential race

Presidential candidates of PCCI.

By Rup Narayan Dhakal–Pokhara: Six entrepreneurs have announced their candidacy for the head of Pokhara Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI), one of the oldest institutions of private sector in Pokhara.

Of the president enthusiasts, some announced their candidacy formally and some informally from social sites like Facebook. PCCI executive body meeting has formally declared its 31st general convention-date scheduled for September 16 and 17, the day before.

Five of the enthusiasts- executive members- Bishwo Shankar Palikhe, Ishwor Karmacharya, Narayan Koirala, Hira Bhattarai and senior vice president Dev Chhetri had announced their candidacy as PCCI president Bindu Kumar Thapa tabled the agenda about upcoming president, in that meeting. Another entrepreneur Dhani Ram Baral is also in the race. Most of the candidates have posted their picture with greetings- Namaste, in Facebook.

Meanwhile, general secretary Rabindra Bahadur Prajoo and 2nd vice president Min Raj Kafle also announced their candidacy for the post of senior vice president. Likewise, executive member Damu Adhikari declared his candidacy for General Secretary.

According to amended PCCI statute 2072, the general convention will directly elect 25 members including president for upcoming tenure. The new president will nominate 4 members later as per the PCCI ruling, informed Top Bahadur Thapa, chief of the PCCI secretariat.

Published on: August 11, 2016 1:53 pm

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.